

FELLOWS

JACEK SZCZERBA POLAND



Jacek Szczerba is Professor at AGH - University of Science and Technology (UST) in Krakow, Poland.

Jacek own a Ph.D. (1998) and a D.Sc. (2009), both in materials science from AGH, UST. He successively held the positions of Engineer from 1973 to 1976, Assistant until 1982, Assistant Professor from 2002 to 2012, then Associate Professor and full Professor of chemical engineering and materials science since 2018.

Prof. Jacek Szczerba was successively the Head of the Refractories Laboratory (1988 to 1996), of the Process Engineering Department (1996 to 2002) at the Institute of Mineral Building Materials (currently: Lukasiewicz, Institute of Ceramics and Building Materials) and has been Head of the Refractories Group since 2009.

Professor Szczerba is the author of over 150 technical papers and holds 20 patents. His main field of research concerns refractory materials, in particular the synthesis of sintered and melted semiproducts, the use of alternative raw material resources, innovative hydraulic binder systems. He conducts research on modified CACs, "green" binders; he works on the modelling and experimental tests of refractory corrosion, microstructure and thermomechanical properties, physical and chemical phenomena in refractories, and generally searches for new solutions in refractories.

Prof. Szczerba has received numerous awards for his scientific and educational activities (medal from the National Commission of Education; awards for education and scientific activities from the Rector of AGH-UST; medal and badges from associations of Polish engineers). He is a scientific member of the Max-von-Laue Institute for Advanced Studies on the Properties of Ceramic Materials, University of Koblenz Landau, Germany; he is a member of the Gustav Eirich International Prize Committee, ECREF Germany. At AGH, UST, he is coordinator of bilateral cooperation with many universities in foreign countries.

Prof. Jacek Szczerba is an active member of the Polish Ceramics Society, he has been awarded by PCS and chairs the PCS refractory section.